AKD Showcase

Obsolescense .... What Does It Mean. Really!

WARNING: This post is over a year old. Some of the information this contains may be outdated.

DISCLAIMER: Any 3rd-party services in these posts and in the config are only recommendations/suggestions. I am not affiliated with any of them.

Have you ever had something for example an electronic gadget and for some reason it starts to malfunction or die altogether? Have you ever wondered what caused that, well I did and probably you have so.... I did some digging and this is what I found; I came across this word: Obsolescence.

What does that mean?

"Obsolescence is the state of being which occurs when an object, service, or practice is no longer wanted"

I further found out there are different types also; Technical, Functional, Architectural, Style and Planned.

After seeing this list the most obvious one I thought that caused the problem I am having would be Planned Obsolescence.

What's that?

This is from wikipedia taken from the main article: Planned Obsolescence.

"Sometimes marketers deliberately introduce obsolescence into their product strategy, with the objective of generating long-term sales volume by reducing the time between repeat purchases. One example might be producing an appliance which is deliberately designed to wear out within five years of its purchase pushing consumers to replace it within five years."

Going off what is said, it would seem that no matter how you take care a product, it is going to fail and that's just f@*#ked up.